About

The UIC SEL Research Group is directed by Dr. Roger P. Weissberg, UIC and LAS Distinguished Professor of Psychology & Education and NoVo Foundation Endowed Chair in Social and Emotional Learning. The group focuses on school, family, and community approaches to enhance students’ social, emotional, and academic learning. The group’s primary focus is school-based social and emotional learning, and its projects address SEL research intervention and assessment, educator preparation, and policy development. We have outstanding collaborators including UIC faculty, students, and research staff, as well as partners from the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL) and school districts around the country.

Current Group Members

  • Roger P. Weissberg > rpw@uic.edu
    UIC and LAS Distinguished Professor
    NoVo Foundation Endowed Chair in Social and Emotional Learning
  • Teresa Borowski > tborowski@casel.org
    Research Specialist
  • Cynthia R. Coleman > colemanc@uic.edu
    Director of Operations

  • Linda Dusenbury > Ldusenbury@aol.com
    Senior Research Scholar
  • Rob Jagers > rjagers@casel.org
    Vice President of Research
  • Duncan Meyers > Dmeyers@casel.org
    Senior Research Associate
  • Jeremy Taylor > Jtaylor@casel.org
    Visiting Research Assistant Professor of Psychology
  • Brittney Williams > bwilliams@casel.org
    Research Associate 
  • Kate Zinsser > Kzinsser@uic.edu
    Assistant Professor of Psychology