About

The UIC SEL Research Group is directed by Dr. Roger P. Weissberg, UIC and LAS Distinguished Professor of Psychology & Education and NoVo Foundation Endowed Chair in Social and Emotional Learning. The group focuses on school, family, and community approaches to enhance students’ social, emotional, and academic learning. The group’s primary focus is school-based social and emotional learning, and its projects address SEL research intervention and assessment, educator preparation, and policy development. We have outstanding collaborators including UIC faculty, students, and research staff, as well as partners from the Collaborative for Academic, Social, and Emotional Learning (CASEL) and school districts around the country.

Current Group Members

  • Roger P. Weissberg > rpw@uic.edu
    UIC and LAS Distinguished Professor
    NoVo Foundation Endowed Chair in Social and Emotional Learning
  • Teresa Borowski > tborowski@casel.org
    Research Specialist
  • Cynthia R. Coleman > colemanc@uic.edu
    Director of Operations
  • Celene Domitrovich > cdomitro@uic.edu
    Senior Research Scientist
  • Linda Dusenbury > Ldusenbury@aol.com
    Senior Research Scholar
  • Duncan Meyers > Dmeyers@casel.org
    Senior Research Associate
  • Eva Oberle
    Postdoctoral Fellow in Social and Emotional Learning Research
  • Roberto Rivera > rriver27@uic.edu
    Research Collaborator 
  • Jeremy Taylor > Jtaylor@casel.org
    Visiting Research Assistant Professor of Psychology
  • Kate Zinsser > Kzinsser@uic.edu
    Assistant Professor of Psychology